

Annual Newsletter December 2021

Wapello Rural Water Wins Best Tasting Water in Iowa Award



Wapello Rural Water Association took home the Best Tasting Water in Iowa award at the 2021 Iowa Rural Water Association's 30th Annual Conference held in Okoboji August 31st and September 1st.

Samples were submitted by water utilities from around the state, all with a goal to be identified as providing the tastiest water in the state. A panel of distinguished tastetesters judged all samples submitted at the conference.

Dan Westegard, who has worked at WRWA for the past 17 years and has been the Water

Treatment Plant Superintendent since he started, says the recognition is important to WRWA. "We feel it is a very prestigious award and we're honored to have received it. It is a testament that shows our commitment and dedication to continue to provide safe potable water to our customers. All of the staff at WRWA have played a part in WRWA receiving this award."

The water treatment plant was completed April 18, 2005 and provided water to most of Keokuk County and portions of Jefferson, Mahaska, Wapello and Washington Counties. As of May 2021, the treatment plant now serves all users in WRWA's service area, North of the Des Moines River. The production at the Water Treatment Plant has increased around 450,000 gallons a day since the switch was completed in May and is now producing an average of 1.4 million gallons a day. There is a total of three employees that work at the Water Treatment Plant; Dan Westegard – Water Plant Superintendent, Greg Bremer – Water Plant Operator, and Brian Cobler – Service Technician and Water Plant Operator.

WRWA continues to strive to provide the best water possible to its customers. The staff at the Water Treatment Plant are constantly working on improvements to increase plant optimization, which in turn pays off with a high quality of water. Many samples are taken daily to ensure the water that is being distributed to the users, meets all IDNR regulations and WRWA standards.

WRWA will go on to represent Iowa as they compete with other state winners from around the country in the national "Great American Water Taste Test" contest next year. The Rural Water Rally is held annually in Washington, D.C. each February and is an annual legislative event for the state affiliates of the National Rural Water Association.

Accepted Payment Methods

Our goal is to offer as many options as we can for your monthly payment. As always, we accept **Cash**, **Check**, or **Money Order**. These payments can be made by mail or dropped off in one of our payment boxes at the office.

We also have a Direct ACH Payment Program. This program allows us to automatically withdraw your monthly payment directly from a bank account so you never miss a payment again. If you wish to utilize this service it is free of charge. This form can be downloaded on our website.

Payments with debit or credit cards can be processed online. **Online** payments can be accessed through a link listed on our website at

www.wapelloruralwater.com.

We also accept credit card payments through our IVR system. You can access this system at 1-833-347-2171.

South Supply Update

WRWA has completed the switchover from Ottumwa Water Works to our Water Treatment Plant South of Delta and Rathbun Regional Water. All users North of the Des Moines River are now served from the Water Treatment Plant and all users South of the Des Moines River are now served from Rathbun Regional Water.

WRWA would like to recognize the staff for all of their hard work that made the project a success.

Policy Update

Effective January 2021 we implemented a non-payment charge of \$100.00 plus tax. Once the account is 45 days past due the non-payment charge will be applied to the account and the service will be subject to disconnection. The non-payment charge will be applied the 16th of the month unless it falls on a weekend or Holiday, then the non-payment charge will be applied on the next business day. This replaced the Reconnect Fee to have your water turned on after disconnection.

Account Information Update

Account#
Name
Address
City/State/Zip
Phone#
Cell Phone#

Please fill out and return this card with your bill or call the office to verify that we have your correct contact information. This allows us to promptly notify you in the case of a water leak or other issues that arise.



What's New with WRWA

A Message from Krista Huffman, CEO

There will be no increase for water rates in 2022. There will be an increase in wastewater rates for all communities. All wastewater members have received a separate mailing regarding the rate increase.

The Board of Directors and the Staff of Wapello Rural Water would like to thank you for allowing us to continue to serve you. We would also like to wish you and your families the best in the coming year.

Wapello Rural Water Association PO Box 538 Ottumwa, IA 52501

Board of Directors

Carolyn Walker, President Joe Fritz, Vice President Myron Luers, Treasurer Duane Bass, Secretary Nick Biggs Henry Mineart Dave Orman Ron Swanstrom Ed Miller

WRWA is an Equal
Opportunity Provider and
Employer

Notice of 2022 Annual Membership Meeting

The WRWA annual meeting will be held January 24th, 2022 and will be called to order at 7:00 pm. The meeting will be held at the Wapello Rural Water office, located at the corner of Shaul Avenue and Mary Street in Ottumwa, IA.

Attached with this mailing is a mail-in ballot. Each member is entitled one vote per active membership. There is one membership for each water service. The ballot may be mailed or dropped off at the office and must be received in the WRWA office by 7:00 pm on January 24th, 2022.

Write-in votes will be accepted. The write-in person must be an active member of the Association and must submit a letter to the Nominating Committee, stating they have been contacted and have agreed to serve on the Board of Directors. The letter must be received before the election.

Nominees for the Board representing Wapello County:

Ron Swanstrom: Ron has served on the board since January of 2013 and resides in Wapello County.

Nick Biggs: Nick has served on the board since May of 2012 and resides in Wapello County.

Nominee for the Board representing Keokuk County:

Myron Luers: Myron has served on the board since August of 1998 and resides in Keokuk County. He is currently serving as the Board treasurer.

To mail in your ballot:

- Remove this page and fold showing the WRWA address.
- This ballot can also be included with your monthly billing.

2022 WRWA MAIL-IN BALLOT

For the election of (2) Board Members for 3-year terms representing Wapello County and (1) Board Member for a 3-year term representing Keokuk County.

The nominating committee: Joe Fritz, Ed Miller and Duane Bass have put forth the following names to appear on the ballot:

Wapello County (3 Years)	Keokuk County (3 Years)
Vote for 2	Vote for 1
() Ron Swanstrom	() Myron Luers
() Nick Biggs	()
()	

Wapello Rural Water Association PO BOX 538 Ottumwa, IA 52501